Yoga with Darren

Lotus Plant

The Lotus

According to Budddhist and Hindu traditions, the Lotus plant represents the human condition with the lotus flower symbolising purity of spirit. The lotus plant has its roots buried in mud, and is able to produce beautiful flowers. Likewise people have their roots buried in the mud of greed, attachment and desire, yet are able to flower toward enlightenment and purity of body and mind.

Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtana Vinyasa originates in a text called the Yoga Korunta, a manuscript of uncertain origin, which includes teachings on Yoga philosophy. Ashtana Yoga translates to "eight limbed Yoga" outlined by the sage Patanjali in the Yoga Sutras.

The eight limbs of Ashtanga Yoga are:

The four limbs from from Yama to Pranayama are cleansing practices for the body while the remaining four limbs: Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana, and Samadh develop awareness of the mind